Book Review: Twenties Girl

January 6, 2010 at 2:04 am 11 comments

I didn’t believe in Santa Claus for very long as a child. I wasn’t as into cartoons as other kids. And I rarely watch fantasy-adventure movies.

I only like to watch/read/believe real people shows/movies/books/stories.

Maybe that’s why I was skeptical when I first saw Twenties Girl in the bookstore. I mean, a chick lit read that involves a ghost??!

But this book proved to be a pleasant surprise

Sophie Kinsella‘s Twenties Girl tells the story of a girl named Lara whose life isn’t going as well as she had hoped. Her boyfriend of three years broke up with her and refuses to talk about it. Her best friend and partner in a start-up headhunting firm goes AWOL leaving her with a business she has no idea how to run. As if her life wasn’t complicated enough, the ghost of her 105-year old aunt who had just passed away suddenly appears to her as the ghost’s twenty-three year old self. As her great-aunt Sadie pesters her day in and day out and makes her do outrageous things, Lara discoversΒ  a great deal about herself and the aunt she never knew.

Twenties Girl was a delight to read. I found myself laughing out loud many times throughout my reading of this book. I loved that this book is not your usual Kinsella read in that I guess I would say the story has more depth than her other novels. The Shopaholic series was a lot of fun, yes, Β but Twenties Girl, I would say, is chick lit that’s fun to read but also has a lot of heart. It reminds me a little of my favorite Cecelia Ahern book “If You Could See Me Now.”

So if you would like to take a breather from your more serious books, I’d definitely recommend this page-turner.

Rating: 4/5

Entry filed under: Chick Lit.

Welcome to Book Crazy A Book a Week for 2010

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ingrid  |  January 6, 2010 at 1:42 pm

    “I loved that this book is not your usual Kinsella read in that I guess I would say the story has more depth than her other novels.”

    I wasn’t a big fan of Kinsella– I mean, I enjoyed “Confessions of a Shopaholic”, but not enough to want to buy the entire series. So it’s good to know that “Twenties Girl” is not the usual Kinsella read. I’ll check this out once the mass market paperback version hits stands. Thanks for the recommendation, Ro! πŸ™‚

    Reply
    • 2. Ro Manalo  |  January 6, 2010 at 1:50 pm

      Thanks for commenting, Grid! πŸ™‚ Wait, so you haven’t read the entire Shopaholic series? The best Shopaholic book for me was the last one – Shopaholic and Sister. πŸ™‚ If you want, you can borrow my copies na lang.

      Reply
  • 3. Iris / Entrepremom  |  January 6, 2010 at 1:43 pm

    I would definitely get a copy of this! Thanks for the review πŸ™‚

    Reply
    • 4. Ro Manalo  |  January 6, 2010 at 1:51 pm

      Thanks for commenting, Iris! πŸ™‚ It’s on sale (30%) in Fully Booked BHS. Although feeling ko, malapit na rin lumabas ang mass paperback so that should be cheaper. πŸ™‚

      Reply
  • 5. Kristina  |  January 6, 2010 at 3:04 pm

    I also liked this book because it reminds me of my childhood favorite, Nancy Drew. It’s not as funny as the Shopaholic series, but, you’re right, this one has more depth. πŸ™‚

    Reply
    • 6. Ro Manalo  |  January 6, 2010 at 3:29 pm

      Thanks for commenting, Tin. Shopaholic naman kasi was like a comedy of errors. Becky Bloomwood kept getting herself into terrible situations. Ito naman, not saying Becky was dumb (just unwise and undisciplined) but Lara seems like a more level-headed person. And it’s cute that she was a little desperate because she’s very easy for a woman to relate to. πŸ™‚

      Reply
  • 7. kaoko  |  January 6, 2010 at 3:14 pm

    It’s not as bubbly / breezy as the other Kinsella titles. In fact, at times, it doesn’t read like Sophie Kinsella, but it doesn’t detract to the story. As you said, it has a lot of heart. I especially adore Sadie’s story. She annoyed me at times, admittedly, but IMO, she’s the one who really makes the book shine.

    Reply
    • 8. Ro Manalo  |  January 6, 2010 at 3:32 pm

      I agree. All our lolas and great-lolas I’m sure have lived very colorful lives. It would be so cool if we saw how they lived in those times.

      The twist about her history was very cool. Because she actually seemed ditzy at first, which made the story a little slow in the start, in my opinion. But once she started showing her heart and her outrageous stunts, she became very lovable. πŸ™‚

      Reply
  • 9. Noelle De Guzman  |  January 7, 2010 at 2:38 pm

    PAHIRAM! πŸ˜€

    Reply
    • 10. Ro Manalo  |  January 7, 2010 at 11:27 pm

      Sure! πŸ™‚ pero may isa pa munang nakapila, i think. after, ikaw na πŸ™‚

      Reply
  • 11. cdeardra  |  March 16, 2012 at 5:51 pm

    i love sophie kinsella and i just bought her latest ones πŸ™‚

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Currently Reading:

I am a Booksneeze Blogger

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other subscribers